Forced Entertainment has been awarded the International Ibsen Award 2016

18 March 2016
Quizoola! - Forced Entertainment - photo by Hugo Glendinning


This prestigious prize honours extraordinary contributions to art and culture and is awarded to an individual or organisation that has brought new artistic dimensions to the world of theatre. It is given every two years by the Norwegian government on Henrik Ibsen’s birthday. As the first ever group to win the prize, Forced Entertainment are honoured to join a distinguished list of previous winners including Peter Handke, Heiner Goebbels, Ariane Mnouchkine, Jon Fosse and Peter Brook. The award ceremony will take place during the International Ibsen Festival in September, at the National Theatre in Oslo, where Forced Entertainment will showcase a range of its work, alongside a symposium and a masterclass with Tim Etchells.

The jury for the International Ibsen Award comprises:
Per Boye Hansen – Committee Chair. Artistic Director of the Norwegian National Opera and Ballet.  Former Head of the Bergen International Festival (Festspillene) and Director of the Komische Opera, Berlin.
Julie Holledge – Professor at Flinders University, Australia. Chief Investigator for AusStage project.
Roman Dolzhanskiy – Theatre critic and dramaturge. Chief Dramaturg at the Theatre of Nations (Moscow). Artistic Director of the NET (New European Theatre) Festival.
Dr. Thomas Oberender – Director of the Berlin Festival.  Former Director of Drama for the Salzbürg Festival.
Hanne Tømta – Artistic Director of the National Theatre in Oslo.
Stephane Braunschweig – Theatre Director and Artistic Director of Théâtre National de Colline, Paris.
Sofia Jupither – Swedish theatre director. Producer and Director of Jupither Josephsson Theatre Company.

You can read the full text of Tim’s speech at the Press Conference in Olso, announcing the award and watch the video made for the same event, introducing Forced Entertainment – featuring Tim Etchells, Lois Keidan (Live Art Development Agency), Rufus Norris (National Theatre) and John McGrath (Manchester International Festival).